Setbacks

Sometimes I get sidetracked. Last time I checked I’m human, and all humans are flawed. However, humans are also intelligent, so I strive to learn from my derailments, which are mostly food related.

We don’t say “old habits die hard” for no reason… Before new actions / choices become habit, people instinctively drift towards their comfort zone. And my comfort zone was pretty much Willy Wonka’s Chocolate Factory and I was a female Augustus Gloop ( him ). So before enough time had passed for new habits to set in I frequently found myself slowly increasing my sugar intake, instead of decreasing it or at least levelling it out, or eating more frozen food than what I had established for that week, etc. The sugar part still happens some times, even after 16 months, but by now I have enough experience to recognize the signs at an early stage and stop it before I take too many steps back. But I didn’t know this at first: I learned it. The hard way.

I try to learn from my mistakes, and I look at failure as a stepping stone. Sure I failed, but I will learn from it and I’ll start again, this time more intelligently. Next time I’ll do better, for now I know. That’s how I came up with my supermarket strategies, for example.

It took me reaching my late 20s to realize that failure is not the opposite of success, but rather just part of the path – the growing pains if you will – to success. So there really is no point in giving up because of a couple of setbacks.

For now I’ll leave you with these 2 messages to think about:

e4cf138ee417d4e8fd47be8690c6664b            7bd6091a3e330a228377b576274e2b3e

2 thoughts on “Setbacks

  1. Pingback: Success is like an iceberg | A Redesigned Mindset

  2. Pingback: Eating habits – how I lost 46kg | A Redesigned Mindset

Leave a Reply

