Gotta start somewhere

Every expert was once a beginner. Too many people forget that too easily.

When I first joined the gym I was a fish – more like a puffer fish – out of water. But I knew that if I gave up that would never change. During those truly uncomfortable and frustrating first months I kept this in mind:

b3537b7b29660fdaf0042a7f1554a1aa faa11cd54ccd223243a099513669691a

And if my experience is worth anything, I can assure you the voice in your head saying “Pppffff… I’ll nevah be able to do that” is a liar. Remember: I joined the gym at 113kg, unable to do a single push-up to save my life, so in the beginning I heard that voice A LOT. I consciously chose to ignore that voice, I heard it alright… just didn’t give it credit. Just because I can’t do it today, that doesn’t mean I won’t be able to do it someday, I just need more practice.

And then, every time you’re finally able to do something that just last week you couldn’t, the feeling is something like this:

Leave a Reply

