Supplements & Me – It’s complicated

Just a little over a month ago I took up a new class, Les Mills Body Pump, and with it came a new level of fatigue. I noticed – when I actually should have seen it coming –  that my recovery time after Pump is much longer than after all the other classes I take (Combat, Balance, CxWorx, RPM), and that weariness began to stand in the way of my performance on the following day(s).

I seriously dislike taking any kind of supplements and I haven’t taken absolutely anything since I changed my life (and even b4 that, tbh). However, having come to terms with the idea that my body needs a helping hand to timely recover from strength training, I talked to one of my instructors. I trust her completely, so whatever she says, goes. And she said ZMAs (just a quick overview here).

Ok, Ok… I can handle that. I guess. Kinda. I’m uncomfortable, but for a different reason than the one I foresaw: I feel horribly pretentious.

I’m no athlete, I’m no crossfitter, I’m no bodybuilder… I’m just someone who takes a few fitness classes, and look at me, taking a supplement like some big shot. I am aware this feeling is fuelled by pre-conceived ideas, but nevertheless it’s here.
On the other hand, most people look at me in awkwardness inducing awe when I tell them I workout 6 days a week. So I guess I do exercise more than average, and it is to be expected that my body needs some kind of supplementation to remain balanced.

So, like I said in the title: Supplements & Me – It’s complicated. Moreover, I’m naturally resistant to change, and this is something new I’m introducing in my life, so I’m sure to struggle with the idea at first. Perhaps it’s just me, perhaps other people have experienced the same mixed feelings, I don’t know.

And just so I don’t leave you imageless:
3f0fb82132f5e51fd055f346ba1d66ec

Leave a Reply

